The A.G.M.2020

Extracts from the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at 7.30 pm on Tuesday, 28th January 2020 at the Woodmead Halls:

Reports: In his capacity of AGM chairman and band president, Owen Lovell wanted to mention that he believes the band had an amazing 2019 summer. Debbie as band chairman thanked the committee for their assistance during her work as acting chairperson this year. She also wanted to thank the collectors for their work. She thanked Ellis for all his hard work with the juniors. Debbie also wanted to thank the parents for ‘shuttling’ the trainees to and from training and concerts: without them we would not have a training band! In his treasurer’s report Adrian thanked Debbie for her hard work as acting chairman this year. He said that the collections at the seafront were very good this year. Expenses were higher this year as the band purchased new items, but the accounts are healthy. In his Musical Director’s Report, David stated that the standard of music is increasing every week. David thanked the band for their commitment. 2020 will be a busy year with “Brassed Off’, which will require a lot of work. He is confident that the band can tackle new challenges.

The Election of Officers followed, resulting in: Chairman – Brian Scott, Vice Chairman – Debbie Woehrle, Secretary – Sandra Evans, Treasurer – Adrian Pearson, Musical Director – David Tozer, Conductor – Brian Scott, MD for trainees – Ellis Holt, Librarian – John Warr. Elected onto the committee were Robert Crabbe, John Hallett and Kathy Smith. The independent examiner remains Paul Fuszard and the trustees are confirmed as John Evans and Derek Hallett.

The meeting finished with confirmation of Band Award recipients: The Gordon Broom Shield for 2019 was presented to Brian Scott who received the award at the Christmas Concert. Chairman’s Award – This award is traditionally presented to a young player who has improved the most. Last year the award was given to Enzo. The Musical Director’s Award was given to John Warr at the Christmas Concert whilst the Bandmaster Award went to Vivian Wright.

Comments are closed.